Hiking Algonquin

This past weekend I had the wonderful opportunity to visit and explore the Adirondacks. While I don’t live too far away, I’ve never visited that part of NY state and it’s absolutely beautiful. I would definitely recommend it.

The Adirondacks are known for the 46 high peaks- the most intense hiking in the state. People challenge themselves to hike all 46 and are known as 46ers. (There’s even a local beer named for them.)

My boyfriend and I enjoy hiking so obviously we decided we were going to try one of the high peaks. And then picked the second highest one. Algonquin Peak is the second highest in NY at an elevation of 5,115 feet and was definitely the most difficult hike I have ever done.

The entire hike is 8.5 miles and takes about 8 hours to complete. And parts of the hike are basically rock climbing up a huge mountain. Needless to say, I was pretty nervous at times but getting to the top was totally worth it.

Algonquin1

Algonquin2

Algonquin3

Unfortunately my camera broke when we got to the summit so the pictures are blurry and don’t do justice to the amazing view.

On the way up, I kept telling myself that if I could do this I could do anything. As I started to go down the mountain, I changed that to if I can get down this mountain I can do anything.

Going down a bunch of slippery rocks while your legs feel like they are going to give out- terrifying. But I did it! (And only gained three bruises on my legs.)

Challenging yourself to do new things and actually accomplishing them is always a great feeling. It can be something active, something at work, or something in your personal life. Whatever it is make it a goal to accomplish it. You’ll feel empowered and alive!

Leave a Reply

