Setting Goals

I’ve never been good at yoga. I’ve tried, and tried but tended to give up quickly when I was not progressing as fast as I would like. Now, I’ve decided to give it another chance and a better try this time! 

It is so important to set goals in all aspects of your life and fitness goals are important too. Having goals pushes you to work towards things and it’s always an awesome feeling to achieve something you could not do before. It doesn’t have to be about losing weight but rather trying something new or being more healthy. That’s why I’ve decided to make yoga my goal. 

I’ve recognized that I won’t be able to do a headstand overnight (or ever) but I’m going to try and not give up. My plan is to follow a yoga video once per week- even if I don’t feel like I’m getting any better.

I’ve in my third week so far and I have to say I’m really enjoying it. I can already tell that I’m getting better at some poses and I’m more comfortable with it in general. It’s also a relaxing workout after a long day. It’s rewarding to be able to see progress and it’s a great way to stay motivated. 

Does anyone else have any fitness goals? Or if you know some good beginner yoga video please throw them this way! 

3 thoughts on “Setting Goals

  1. Don’t worry about being good at yoga, as long as it makes you feel better it’s working! Before you get started with videos I’d highly recommend a beginners course at a studio which will give you a solid foundation and helps prevent injuries. In yoga they say that the fastest way to progress is to take it slowly because you won’t need to stop to heal an injury. Enjoy your practice 🙂

  2. Hey! I just wanted to stop by and say thanks for following my blog – I see we’re both members of Her Campus! I think yours is very inspirational – especially this post about setting goals. I can totally relate to yoga struggles 🙂 I look forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

